• RISE

California Laws on Rape

The prison sentence for rape varies based on variables like age and severity of the crime.

According to RAINN, rape is generally punishable by imprisonment for 3, 6, or 8 years. When the victim is a minor, violence, duress, menace, or fear of immediate and unlawful bodily injury on the victim or another person.

  • If the victim is under 14 years old, the offender is subject to imprisonment for 9, 11, or 13 years.

  • If the victim is a minor who is older than 14 years old, the offender is subject to incarceration for 7, 9, or 11 years.

  • If the victim is a non-minor, the offender is subject to imprisonment for 5, 7, or 9 years

  • If the victim is under 14 years old, the offender is subject to imprisonment for 10, 12, or 14 years.

  • If the victim is a minor who is older than 14 years old, the offender is subject to imprisonment for 7, 9, or 11 years.

Disclaimer: California has complicated guidelines for sex offenses. Sex crimes are regarded as felonies and may be subject to “One Strike” laws, which carry a maximum sentence of life imprisonment. An individual jail sentence depends on factors like the victim's age, the use of force, threats, violence, or deadly weapons, the number of victims, and the connection between the victim and the offender.

https://apps.rainn.org/policy/policy-crime-definitions.cfm?state=California&group=3&_ga=2.15835317.2023990705.1660323286-145465598.1660323286

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sexual harassment includes offensive jokes, pressure for sexual favors, unwelcome touching, and any type of physical harassment. Harassment is illegal in the workplace when it gets to the point of mak

Every 9 minutes, child protective services found evidence of sexual abuse. Assailants tend to be related to the child. 34% are family members and 93% are known to victims. 1 in 4 girls and 1 in 13 boy

Unless otherwise specified, a person convicted of rape faces a sentence of life in prison, a period of not more than 20 years in jail, and/or a fine of not more than $50,000. The offender shall be pun