Rape Laws in Arizona
Sexual assault is considered a Class 2 felony in Arizona. The severity of the punishment for sexual assault depends on the perpetrator's criminal history, the victim's age, and whether or not the attacker intentionally caused physical harm.
The criminal may receive a life sentence if the sexual assault includes the purposeful or knowing infliction of substantial physical harm.
If the offender was at least 18 years old and the victim was under the age of 12, they could also receive a life sentence.
The minimum sentence for general first-time offenders is 5.25 years, and the maximum sentence for those with two prior felony convictions is 28 years.
Sexual abuse can be a Class 5 felony or a Class 3 felony.
For first-time offenders, a Class 5 felony carries a sentence of between 0.5 years and 2.5 years, depending on the existence of aggravating and mitigating circumstances.
For first-time offenders, sexual abuse of a child who is under 15 years old is a Class 3 felony punished by 2.5 to 7.5 years in jail; however, ongoing sexual abuse of a child is punishable by 13 to 27 years in prison.
These are some generic legislations and can be subject to change based on the situation.