Rape Laws in Connecticut
Sexual Assault in the First Degree
A person commits sexual assault in the first degree when such person:
Pressures another person to have a sexual relationship with them by using force against them or a third party, or by threatening to use force against them or a third party and making that person reasonably believe that they will get hurt physically (if the victim is under 16 this is a class A felony subject to a sentencing enhancement)
Engages in sexual activity with a child under the age of thirteen while the actor is at least two years older than the other person (class A felony subject to a sentencing enhancement)
Commits sexual assault in the second degree with the assistance of two or more additional people who are actually present.
Having sex with someone who is so mentally ill that they are unable to provide their consent but who is nonetheless engaged in sexual activity.
Unless otherwise stated, sexual assault in the first degree is a class B felony that carries a minimum ten-year jail sentence.
The court is not permitted to suspend or shorten the sentence by less than two years.
The court cannot postpone or lessen 10 years of the sentence issued if the victim of the offense is under ten years old.
Sexual activity involving the use of force when the victim is under 16 years old or when the actor is two years older than the victim and the victim is under 13 might result in harsher punishments. The Connecticut criminal code also has extra sentencing enhancements.
Any person found guilty in accordance with this section faces a sentence of at least ten years in prison, of which a portion may be suspended (aside from as stated above), or a term of imprisonment and a period of special parole under subsection (b), which taken together equal at least ten years in prison.